University Of Otago Semester 1 Exam Timetable

Because of the flexibility of courses of study at Otago, examination timetabling cannot begin until after the last day to delete papers for that teaching period. Therefore, the anticipated dates for the release of examination timetable dates and times (published below) are:

  • Summer School: late January
  • Semester one: mid–late April
  • Semester two: mid–late August

Once the examination timetable has been finalised, each student’s examination information will be displayed in the Timetable section of their eVision portal.

As per the University of Otago Examination and Assessment Regulations, candidates are expected to sit their final examinations as scheduled. The main examination centre is Dunedin. In the case of Extramural or Distance Learning candidates, the examination centre is a University-nominated examination venue near their normal study location.

Examination periods

The University of Otago has three examination periods each year.

The 2020 examination period dates are as follows:

  • Summer School: 15–20 February 2020 (inclusive)
  • Semester one: 3–17 June 2020 (inclusive)
  • Semester two: 14 October–7 November 2020 (inclusive)

The 2021 examination periods dates are as follows:

  • Summer School: 20-25 February 2021 (inclusive)
  • Semester one: 9-23 June 2021 (inclusive)
  • Semester two: 20 October-13 November 2021 (inclusive)