University Of Otago Foundation

The University of Otago Foundation Year offers a university entrance qualification, called the Foundation Studies Certificate (FSC), which is recognised by all New Zealand universities.

Foundation Year prepares you for all undergraduate degrees offered at the University of Otago through the four academic divisions – Commerce, Health Sciences, Humanities, Sciences.

Classes are taught on campus, with students using the same facilities as University of Otago students.

Our main building is world-class and you will be impressed with the facilities, teaching and support given to all Foundation Year students.

Meet some of our past students

Kane Zhao – Foundation Year

Nima Hagdoust – General English & Foundation Year

Wei Shi – General English & Foundation Year

Nicole Zhong – Foundation Year

Ryan Pilat – Foundation Year

Anna and Beyning – Foundation Year

Further information about Foundation Year

What can I study at Foundation Year?

Entry requirements

Domestic enrolments

Bridging Programme

Scholarship programmes


Information for international students

Information for domestic students

Campus map