University Of Canterbury Board

The Academic Board is a statutory committee of the University.  As UC’s principal academic body its role is to provide advice to the Council on academic matters relating to courses of study, awards, student admission, enrolment and examination, strategy, function, and regulation of the University.

Membership of the Academic Board consists of the academic leaders of the University, other elected academic representatives, and student representatives. 

The Board typically meets on the 2nd Friday of each month.


Professor Cheryl de la Rey, Vice Chancellor


Mrs Eleri Nugent, Academic Quality Team

The Board has the following permanent committees:

  1. Academic Administration Committee (further information on intranet staff only)
  2. Learning and Teaching Committee (further information on intranet staff only)
  3. Research Committee
  4. Postgraduate Research Committee
  5. Library Committee
  6. Discipline Committee

Board of Directors

Michael Aldridge

  • President, UCF in America

Brian Service

  • Vice-President, UCF in America
  • Finance Sub-Committee

Pat Cassidy

  • Development Consultant, UK and USA

Cheryl de la Rey

  • Vice-Chancellor

Jo Dowling

Julie Fry

  • UCF in America Director

Jonny Lindroos

  • UCF in America Director
  • Finance Sub-Committee

Ronnie Peters

  • UCF in America Director

Gary Starling

  • UCF in America Director
  • Finance Sub-Committee

David Teece

  • UCF in America Director