Lincoln University Young Farmers Club

NZ Young Farmers (NZYF) is a non-profit organisation with a focus on connecting communities and helping to grow future leaders.

It operates a network of almost 80 NZYF clubs across the country, each with their own
identity and community spirit. They are backed by a national organisation, which is governed by an eight-member board.

The clubs are progressive and provide a venue for young people to develop their leadership and personal skills. They’re a place where members can network with like-minded individuals and make friends for life.

People don’t need to be a farmer to join – all they need is a passion for the agriculture,
food and fibre sectors.

NZYF is a participation-based organisation and all members are encouraged to be active in their clubs’ activities and to take advantage of opportunities that come their way.

The organisation runs the iconic FMG Young Farmer of the Year contest, FMG Junior Young Farmer of the Year and Agrikids contests, along with stock judging, clay target shooting, fencing and debating competitions.

In 2017 NZYF took ownership of a 74-hectare dairy farm in Auckland. It was gifted to the organisation by the late Donald Pearson. The farm’s location provides an unrivalled opportunity to get urban students excited about career prospects in the food and fibre sector. Its future as an educational farm is being mapped out.

NZYF has a well-respected national engagement team, who works with schools to get students and teachers excited about opportunities in the primary industries. We run popular Teachers’ Day Out events, leadership camps and provide free cross-curricular teaching resources through while offering any needed support along the way.

NZYF also operates a growing network of TeenAg clubs in high schools across New Zealand. The clubs are designed to help attract students into the agri-food sector and hone their leadership skills.

Each year more than 1,000 students participate in regional and grand finals of FMG Junior Young Farmer of the Year and the AgriKids competitions.


For all general enquiries, please call 03 344 2473. 

Chief Executive Officer 
Lynda Coppersmith
Cell: 021 156 9891
Email: [email protected]


Media & Communications Manager
Erin Speedy
Cell: 021 213 9487
Email: [email protected] 


General Manager of Pathways
Trevor McIntyre
Cell: 021 994 173
Email: [email protected]

School Engagement Manager
Mary Blain
Email: [email protected]


General Events Inquiry’s 
NZYF Events Team 
Email: [email protected] 

Events and Sponsorship Manager
Kate McMurray  
Cell: 021 511 803
Email: [email protected]

Events Specialist   
Danielle Holland 
Cell: 021 925 408
Email: [email protected] 

Events and Partnerships Specialist
Jake Lonergan
Cell: 021 995 403
Email: [email protected]

Events Administrator 
Gen Ward
Cell: 027 213 0068
Email: [email protected] 

Graphic Designer (Part-time)
Anna McDiarmid
Cell: 03 344 2473
Email: [email protected]

Digital Specialist
Max Wilson
Cell: 021 991 637
Email: [email protected]