Bond University Vice-Chancellor

Professor Brailsford is the Vice Chancellor and President of Bond University. Professor Brailsford’s previous positions include Executive Dean at the University of Queensland; Dean at the Australian National University in Canberra, and other senior academic positions at the University of Melbourne and Monash University. He holds a PhD, Master and Honours degrees and is a Senior Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia, Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management and Fellow of CPA Australia.

Professor Brailsford’s area of expertise is finance and investments. He was appointed as the inaugural Frank Finn Professor of Finance at the University of Queensland and he is the co-author of the best-selling Australasian text on Investments, now in its 5th edition. Professor Brailsford has also published a number of books and research monographs and over 70 research papers. Professor Brailsford’s research has been recognised through various prestigious manuscript awards. In 2003, Professor Brailsford was awarded the Prime Minister’s Centenary Medal.

Professor Brailsford’s expertise crosses into industry. He has experience on several company boards and government committees.  Past Board appointments include the AACSB, EFMD, private investment companies, Queensland Rugby Union and Australian University Sport. Professor Brailsford is also a regular consultant and advisor to industry and government, particularly in the field of investment management and valuation. Clients have included organisations in both State and Federal governments and a number of listed corporations.

Professor Brailsford has also served on a number of professional committees, including the Professional Education Board of CPA Australia, past President of the Accounting and Finance Association of Australia & New Zealand, past President of the Australian Business Deans Council and past President of the Association of Asia-Pacific Business Schools.  

Former Vice Chancellors

Emeritus Professor Robert Stable AM
Vice Chancellor and President
1 January 2004 to 31 December 2011

Professor Ken Moores AM
Vice Chancellor and President
3 December 1997 to 31 December 2003

Professor Raoul Mortley AO, FAHA
Vice Chancellor and President
1 August 1996 to 16 September 1997

Emeritus Professor Harry Messel AC CBE
Executive Chancellor
7 February 1993 to 15 July 1995

Professor Philip Lader
President and Vice Chancellor
29 July 1991 to 6 February 1993

Professor Donald Watts AM
Vice Chancellor and President
1 July 1987 to 30 June 1990